Finalists for 2018 Staff and Students Awards announced

17 April 2018

The finalists for the annual AberSU Celebrates: Staff and Students Awards have been announced.

This year, over 200 nominations were received for sixteen awards.  Categories include Lecturer of the Year, Support / Service Staff Member of the Year, Personal Tutor of the Year, Innovative Teaching Award and Department of the Year.

The winners will be announced at a celebration evening at the Great Hall in Aberystwyth Arts Centre on Thursday 26 April.

Now in their seventh year, the awards are organised by Aberystwyth Students’ Union, and supported by the University, and offer the opportunity to recognise the contribution of staff (both teaching and non-teaching), academic representatives across the University and student volunteers for the work they do throughout the academic year.

Results will be tweeted live on the night by @AberUni and @UMAberSU

The finalists for the 2018 AberSU Staff and Students Awards are:

Next Step Award

  • Christina Evans
  • Arwyn Edwards
  • Warren Dockter

Innovative Teaching Award

  • David Jones
  • Amanda Clare
  • Val Nolan 

Volunteer Officer of the Year

  • Ammaara Nalban
  • Matthew Poulton
  • Cedric Rischitelli
  • Megan Hatfield

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year

  • Winner to be announced on the night

Supervisor of the Year (Postgraduate)

  • Sarah Riley
  • Matthew Francis
  • Berit Bliesemann de Guevara and Milja Kurki
  • Adrian Kear

Supervisor of the Year (Undergraduate)

  • Simon Payne
  • Gavin Goodwin
  • Nicholas Perdikis

Election Heroes Award

  • Psychology
  • Mathematics
  • Geography and Earth Sciences
  • Welsh and Celtic Studies

Outstanding Feedback Award

  • Alexandros Koutsoukis
  • Val Nolan
  • Kate Woodward

Student Mentor of the Year

  • Chloe Wilkinson-Silk
  • Dana Barringham
  • Eluned Vickets
  • Chynna Godfrey

Personal Tutor of the Year

  • Rachel Rahman
  • Lucy Taylor
  • T Robin Chapman
  • Adam Vellender

Hyrwyddwr yr Iaith Gymraeg (Welsh Language Champion)

  • Winner to be announced on the night

Student Volunteer of the Year

  • Rhiannon Perrett
  • Max Kossatz
  • Geena Whiteman
  • Robin Church

Support / Service Staff Member of the Year

  • Enfys Lloyd
  • Meinir Davies
  • Stephen Fearn
  • Rory Geoghegan

Academic Representative of the Year

  • Aimee Roberts
  • Giselle Morris
  • Sabrina Mangham
  • Cameron Wilcox

Lecturer of the Year

  • Pippa Moore
  • Greg Bevan
  • Jamie Medhurst
  • Brieg Powel
  • Matthew Jarvis

Department of the Year

  • English and Creative Writing
  • Welsh and Celtic Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Law