Aberystwyth hosts British Chess Championships

Making a move, Cassie Graham (right) takes on Asha Jina

Making a move, Cassie Graham (right) takes on Asha Jina

22 July 2014

The 101st British Chess Championships officially got underway at Aberystwyth University on Monday 21 July.

The Championships, which are being held over two weeks from 19July until 2 August, will see children and adults of all ages compete against some of the UK’s top players.

More than 1,000 entrants will be competing against each other at the Championships, which return to Aberystwyth after a gap of 53 years; they were last held here back in 1961.

Current British Chess Champion David Wei Liang Howell will be at Aberystwyth to defend his title. At the age of 23, he is the youngest chess Grandmaster in the UK.

And the reigning British Women’s Champion, 13-year-old Akshaya Kalaiyalhan, will also be in Aberystwyth and hoping to retain her crown.

The British Chess Championships is organised by the English Chess Federation. The Federation organises separate championships for men and women. Since 1923 there have been sections for juniors, and since 1982 there has been an over-sixty championship.

The Championship venue changes every year and has been held in different locations in England, Scotland and Wales. 

Follow the competition live online by clicking here.