Learning and Teaching Fellow

Nitin Naik

Nitin Naik

15 July 2014

Nitin Naik from the Department of Computer Science, was presented with a Learning and Teaching Fellowship Award on Monday 14 July, in recognition of the exceptional contribution he has made to teaching and learning at the University.

Every year, Aberystwyth University awards Learning and Teaching Fellowships to members of academic staff who have excelled in their field.

Originally from India, Nitin holds two Bachelor Degrees, five Master Degrees and is currently completing a PhD in Computer Science at Aberystwyth University.

He has around 22 years of teaching and research experience in higher education and his main research and teaching areas are Systems Security, Artificial Intelligence, Data Mining and Mathematics. He is the author of 30 books on computer science and IT and most of them are recommended textbooks in Indian universities.

Nitin explains, "I believe that teamwork is the key to success for any organisation and that individuals develop through interaction and supportive collaboration within a team context. For me the teaching excellence award is an important form of recognition for a teacher for their teaching and learning contribution to the university as a community.

“I am greatly encouraged to have received two teaching awards within a three year period. It validates my commitment to teaching, and strengthens my determination to maintain excellence in the future."

Five Fellows will be presented with their Award during this year’s graduation ceremonies which take place from 14-18 July 2014.  The other four academic members of staff to be presented include Dr Antonia Ivaldi, Department of Psychology, IBERS’ Dr David Whitworth, Graham Lewis from the Centre for the Development of Staff and Academic Practice and Professor Len Scott from the Department of International Politics.

The aim of the scheme is to raise the profile of teaching or support for learning at the University and recognise an individual’s local and wider influence on the teaching community.

Professor Tim Woods, Director of the Institute of Education, Professional and Graduate Development at Aberystwyth University and Chair of the Awards Panel explains, “These individuals have made a significant contribution to teaching and learning at the University and have gone above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions.

“These are the staff who are our principal champions of learning and teaching and who often inspire innovation and disseminate cutting edge practices within the University.

“Each Fellow has been awarded £1,200 to support them in order to continue with their professional development in teaching or learning.”

A Learning and Teaching Enhancement Fund is also available for projects that improve learning and teaching and involve more than one academic department or has uses across departments.

The Fund focuses on areas highlighted in the Aberystwyth / Bangor Learning, Teaching and Widening Access Strategy and offer up to a maximum of £2,000 per project.

Dr Hannah Dee from the Department of Computer Science, Dr Sarah Riley from the Department of Psychology and Richard Williams and Dr Stephen Tooth of the Department of Geography & Earth Sciences were all successful with their bids.