Fellows to be honoured at Graduation

His Honour Judge Niclas Parry, who was honoured as Fellow in 2013

His Honour Judge Niclas Parry, who was honoured as Fellow in 2013

11 July 2014

Aberystwyth University will honour eleven Fellows during this year’s Graduation ceremonies which take place at the University’s Arts Centre next week - Monday 14 to Friday 18 July.

The title of Fellow is awarded to honour individuals who have a close association with Aberystwyth and the University, or who have made an outstanding contribution to professional or public life in Wales.

This year’s Fellows are:

D. Geraint Lewis
D. Geraint Lewis is an author and former Education and Children’s Librarian for Dyfed and Assistant Director of Education at Ceredigion County Council.

D. Geraint Lewis will be presented by Dr Mari Elin Jones, Director of the Centre for Welsh Language Services on Monday 14 July at 11am.

Professor John Harries
A renowned atmospheric physicist and Wales’ first Chief Scientific Adviser. Professor John Harries led the team that produced the first direct observational evidence of an increase in the Earth’s greenhouse effect between 1970 and 1997. 

Professor John Harries will be presented by Professor Andrew Evans, Head of the Department of Mathematics and Physics on Monday 14 July at 3pm.

Jeremy Bowen
Jeremy is a prominent Welsh journalist, television presenter and currently the BBC's Middle East Editor. He was recently one of the few journalists inside Syria reporting on the crisis.

Jeremy Bowen will be presented by Dr Madeline Carr from the Department of International Politics on Tuesday 15 July at 11am.

Sir Michael Moritz
The Cardiff-born venture capitalist and philanthropist, Sir Michael Moritz is chairman of Sequoia Capital in California’s Silicon Valley where he has worked since 1986. He is a former member of the board of directors of Google and his internet company investments include Google, Yahoo!, PayPal, Webvan, YouTube, eToys, and Zappos. Sir Michael was appointed Knight Commander of the Order of the British Empire (KBE) in the 2013 Birthday Honours for services to promoting British economic interests and philanthropic work.

Sir Michael Moritz will be presented by Professor Steve McGuire, Head of the School of Management and Business, on Tuesday 15 July at 3pm.

Rhodri Meilir
Welsh actor, Rhodri Meilir, graduated from the Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies in 2000. Rhodri has appeared in a number of popular television shows including playing the role of Alfie Butts in the long running BBC sitcom, My Family, ITV’s Afterlife and Terry Pratchett’s Hogfather on Sky One. 

Rhodri Meilir will be presented by Dr Jamie Medhurst, Head of the Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies on Wednesday 16 July at 11am.

Ed Thomas
Playwright, director and producer, Ed Thomas, is founder member and creative director of TV production company Fiction Factory. He has also produced a number of drama programmes for S4C including most recently Hinterland/Y Gwyll, a detective series produced in Welsh and English for S4C, BBC and distributed internationally by All3Media. Much of Hinterland was filmed in and around the University and Ed was instrumental in establishing a number of placements for University students during its filming.

Ed Thomas will be presented by Dr Kate Woodward of the Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies on Wednesday 16 July at 11am.

Rhod Gilbert
The son of two Aber alumi, Rhod Gilbert is best known for his comedy genius. He has been a regular contributor to a range of major comedy shows and now hosts the BBC Radio Wales’ Rhod Gilbert Show every Saturday morning.

Rhod Gilbert will be presented by Professor Sarah Prescott, Director of the Institute of Literature, Languages & Creative Arts on Wednesday 16 July at 3pm.

Professor Bonnie Buntain
Professor Buntain is the Assistant Dean Professor of Public Health at the University of Calgary in Canada. Prior to joining the Faculty, Professor Buntain was the Chief Public Health Veterinarian at the Food Safety and Inspection Service for the US Department of Agriculture. 

Professor Bonnie Buntain will be presented by Professor Chris Thomas, Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Academic Quality on Thursday 17 July at 11am.

Dr John Sheehy
Emeritus Head of Applied Photosynthesis and Systems Modelling Laboratory at the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), Dr Sheehy is an alumnus of Aberystwyth University. He pioneered a ground-breaking research program, assembling an international team of scientists to kick start a new evolution in rice and break the rice yield barrier by supercharging photosynthesis. The initiative was funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and, shortly after retiring, he was honoured with an OBE.

Dr John Sheehy will be presented by Professor Iain Donnison from the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences on Thursday 17 July at 11am.

Brian Jones
A West Wales farmer and entrepreneur, Brian Jones established Castell Howell Foods Ltd in the mid-1980s and continues to lead the company as its Managing Director. Castell Howell is one of IBERS’ industrial partners and supports the research and development of improving food quality and sustainable supply chains.

Brian Jones will be presented by Professor Nigel Scollan from the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences on Thursday 17 July at 3pm. 

Baroness Kay Andrews
Baroness Andrews is an alumna of Aberystwyth University, having graduated with a BA in International Politics in 1966. In 2009 she became the first woman Chair of English Heritage (2009-2013). She is the author of a recent report for the Welsh Government on Culture, Heritage and Poverty, and has also written books and articles on science policy, social policy and education. She is a Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords.

Baroness Kay Andrews will be presented by Rebecca Davies, Pro Vice-Chancellor for Student and Staff Services, on Friday 18 July at 11am.

Professor April McMahon, Aberystwyth University’s Vice-Chancellor said; “Every year we honour the achievements of individuals who have excelled in their particular fields and have made a considerable contribution to Aberystwyth, to Wales, and beyond. I am delighted that this year such a distinguished and interesting group of new Fellows have accepted our invitation. Our students and staff will be proud to share a platform with them during Graduation Week.”