About us

Welcome to the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics at Aberystwyth University has been given a stellar rating of 91% for overall satisfaction in an influential UK-wide student survey.(NSS, 2017)

Physics and Astronomy have been taught at Aberystwyth since the University was established in the Old College on the sea front in 1872.

The department is now housed in one of the most distinctive and architecturally-renowned buildings on the Penglais campus, where lecture theatres, laboratories, study areas and the Physical Sciences Library are located together. Recent refurbishment ensures that we continue to provide a stimulating learning environment for a growing body of students from all over the world. The department is now home to over 300 undergraduate and postgraduate students.

A degree in Physics is an excellent preparation for careers in areas such as teaching, engineering and finance as well as providing the first step in becoming a professional scientist. The majority of our Physics courses are accredited by the Institute of Physics (IOP) and the curriculum enables students to take joint courses with other departments in the university and to specialise in areas such as mathematical physics and astrophysics. Working closely with Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol, the department has a leading role in the provision of physics in higher education through the medium of Welsh. 

Our aim is to provide the highest quality education in a friendly and supportive environment and to undertake internationally competitive, collaborative research in Space Physics, Materials Physics and Quantum Physics.

*Aberystwyth University’s rankings are compared against the HE institutions listed in The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2018