Prizes for outstanding student achievement in Mathematics

30 September 2022

Every year the department awards prizes, thanks to donations and bequests from previous staff and students, to students who have excelled in their Mathematics studies over the previous year.

It was a pleasure to award prizes to this year's finalists at graduation this year. This week it was the turn of our returning students to celebrate their achievements of the past year.

The T.V. Davies Prize for Applied Mathematics, in memory of Prof. T.V. Davies, Head of Applied Mathematics 1958-1967 is awarded for excellent performance in Applied Mathematics; this year's winners are Kaitlin Ashton and Ethan Pattison, who are embarking on the MMath year, and Trys Hooper, Aneirin Griffith and John Aaltio, who are starting year 3.

The V.C. Morton Prize for Mathematics, for outstanding performance in Mathematics, is awarded in memory of Prof Vernon Morton, Head of Pure Mathematics, 1923-1961. These are awarded to George Lee (year 3) and Lucas Esslemont-Hill (year M).

The C.D. Easthope Award for Mathematics is awarded in memory of Dr Colin Easthope, Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 1936-1975 and is for outstanding performance by any Mathematics undergraduate. This year Easthope awards go to Emma Gibson (year M), Nathan Robertshaw, Hannah Cooper and Cadi Maple (year 3), and Kiara Kearney, Shubh Joshi, Ellie Hyam, Rachel Seaborne, Tal Griffith, Wei Yuan Ng and Thomas Ferneyhough (year 2).